Drinking / Cussing / Smoking / Going To Parties

For as long as I can remember now, Sunday’s have been my day to get all of the dirty work done that I can’t do in the middle of the week.  

Scheduling.
Budgeting.
Invoices.
Returning emails.
Set list tweaks.
Media for Sacred Way’s sunday night getherings. 

It is far from my Sabbath.  
Saturday is my day of rest, but Sunday is a great day for me nonetheless.  It’s been a day that God uses to clear my head of things that plague my mind during the week.

And, it’s about the only day that I have the time to write anything on this blog of mine.  

So, here’s something that’s been running through my head all week:

People that have grown up in church – especially very conservative church – their whole lives tend to stray from conservative values. It’s just how it goes, in most cases.  
I’m that way myself:  things my parents say are wrong (i.e. drinking / cussing / smoking), I have no problem with when done in moderation and in the right context.   
My parents and I will fight about these things.
This tension between my parents and I is the small scale of things though.  
This is a church-wide epidemic that divides Christians, and labels them as conservative or liberal.  

Here’s my problem:
Both sides think they’re right.  

My generation looks at what we CAN do, and we say “Because we say that we CAN smoke/drink/go to parties, we’re following Jesus, and because you say that we CAN’T do these things, you are not.”

Previous generations look at what they CAN’T do, and say “Because we say that we CAN’T smoke/drink/go to parties, we’re following Jesus, and because you say that we CAN do these things, you are not.”

I guess my question to anyone who’s reading this is, does either of these stances make you more of a Christian because you hold to it?
Or, are these distractions that keep our eyes off of Jesus, and on ourselves?

Think. 

Leave a Reply

