weather is unpredictable.

santa clarita has been a mess.
southern californians do not know how to live in the rain.
and we’ve had quite a bit of rain this past week.

(today, about four hours ago, a kid – named kyle seaholm, about my age – died in a motorcycle crash, while riding down a hill.)

right when you begin to think that the rain is done, it comes down even harder.
like, yesterday it would be calm for all of 30 seconds, and by the time you turned around to look at the ‘clear’ sky, it would be hailing.

(kyle had been having discussions concerning faith in Jesus, with another friend of mine – who i haven’t seen in a very long time. and kyle didn’t want much to do with it; from what i’d heard.)

my windshield wipers are jacked up right now too.
i definitely can’t see very well while i’m driving.
but, after a little bit of rain this morning, the clouds started playing with the sunlight and making some awesome shadows.

(my friend kept talking to him)

then, this afternoon while i was driving up to amanda’s house, i saw that her entire street was blocked off, and there were cop cars everywhere.
i didn’t know what happened, but i figured it wasn’t anything good.

(kyle accepted Jesus this morning.)

then i turned around and started driving down the hill away from the cops – still not clear about what had happened.

(he died this afternoon.)

then i saw a huge rainbow – one so big that i made amanda come out from inside her house to see it.

(kyle’s with Jesus.)

weather is unpredictable.

love.

{sailing on a ship :: phil whickham :: cannons}

p.s. if you are reading this and you are connected to Kyle’s family, and know of any needs that they may have (meals, etc.) please email me. if you need anything, you are welcome to email me as well. all my love.

Comments
3 Responses to “weather is unpredictable.”
  1. Brian says:

    😦

    It’s so sad when a young life is lost, especially when you lose someone that’s close to you. Believe me, I know. I feel for the family and friends.

    May God be with him.

  2. Mike says:

    I worked with Kyles dad before he went to work for Kaiser. He had pictures or Kyle and his brother, he was always talking about the hobby shop. Paul loved his boys and was a single father for many years as I was. We talked a lot about Divorce, kids and work.

    My prayers go out to Paul and his family..

  3. Paul says:

    Mike. I can’t believe you saw this and I am so appreciative of your response. You really made my day in this very troubling time. We are having a gathering in remembrance on Saturday, I would love to see you. Thank you for your kind words and thoughts. I miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

